Community Announcement

Darryl Tveitbakk Named Alumnus of the Year

The Graduation Committee of Northland Community and Technical Colleges Thief River Falls campus has recently announced its 2011 Alumni of the Year selections. Ray Kuznia, Darryl Tveitbakk, and Shane Zutz, all of Thief River Falls, share Alumni of the Year honors.

Darryl Tveitbakk is a 1971 graduate of the Audio Communications program and a 1973 graduate of the Electronics program at Northland (formerly Thief River Falls AVTI). While at Northland, he participated in numerous activities and was the first summer work study station manager at KSRQ (formerly KAVS). Tveitbakk has also attended college at the University of Minnesota (Crookston and the Twin Cities campuses) and Bemidji State University.

After working for several years for the city of Thief River Falls as an electronics technician, Tveitbakk took a job as a full-time faculty member in the Electronics Technology program at Northland (formerly the Thief River Falls Technical College) from 1990 to 1992. He currently serves as the general manager of the Northern Municipal Power Agency in Thief River Falls. The NMPA is a municipal corporation with membership communities in northwest Minnesota and northeast North Dakota that has estimated annual sales in excess of $57 million.

Tveitbakk was elected and currently serves as a Pennington County Commissioner. He is the past Pennington County Chair, and sits on the Thief River Falls Regional Airport Authority, the Policy and Personnel Committee, the Building and Grounds Committee, and the Northwest Regional Library Board representing Pennington County.

Tveitbakk is active in a number of state and local organizations, including the Boy Scouts, the Lions Club, and the Minnesota Deer Hunters Association. He has also served a term as the state deputy of the Minnesota Knights of Columbus, the highest leadership position in that 45,000-member organization.

Darryl and his wife Deb have three grown children, Chris, Nick and Ben.

Alumnus of the Year nominees are submitted by faculty, employees, and alumni of NCTC TRF and compiled and announced by the Campus Graduation Committee.